Sealy recertified as a Texas Scenic City


Scenic Texas recently announced that Sealy was one of 19 Texas cities recognized as 2020 Certified Scenic City award recipients through the Scenic City Certification Program, a program of the statewide nonprofit and its 18 partner organizations.

The Scenic City Certification Program recognizes cities for their demonstrated commitment to high-quality scenic standards for public roadways and spaces. Two cities have earned certification for the first time and 17 are recertifying or upgrading existing status, bringing the number of certified cities across Texas to 85. Sealy recertified at the gold level.

“The “gold” designation and the scenic areas that include the downtown historic district continues to help attract and retain new businesses for at least five new single-family developments that are in different areas of development,” said Warren Escovy, assistant city manager and planning director. “The standards that the city has adopted will help grow the city in a smart and responsible way while maintaining model standards for high quality public spaces such as parks and walkways. This is a continued effort that staff, city council and the residents all have a part in.”

 In 2010 Sealy leaders were able to obtain a Scenic City Designation of bronze and in 2015 then Planning Director Randy Anderson was able to achieve a gold designation. The certification of all levels from “recognized” to “platinum” is given to cities that protect their communities and promote scenic qualities through existing ordinances and code language.

“In 2020, as Texans found themselves investing and spending more time in their neighborhoods and their communities, the Scenic City designation became a reflection of communities working to make a more scenic Texas for residents and visitors alike,” said Sarah Tober, Scenic Texas Executive Director. “The certification process itself provides cities with a roadmap for future growth and development, and we are confident that more and more cities will be seeking out these kinds of roadmaps as Texans continue to shift our focus to improving our surroundings.”

The Scenic City Certification Program is a nationally recognized, one-of-a-kind model, developed to provide communities with a comprehensive set of standards and evaluations for the design and development of public roadways and spaces.

Cities earning first-time certification or recertification in 2020 and their rankings are:

Baytown (new) | bronze

Celina (new) | platinum

Princeton (ranked up) | bronze

Lakeway (ranked up) | platinum

Belton (recertified) | gold

Cuero (recertified) | gold

Granbury (recertified) | gold

Marble Falls (recertified) | gold

Sealy (recertified) | gold

South Padre Island (recertified) | gold

Sugar Land (recertified) | gold

Westlake (recertified) | platinum

Georgetown (recertified) | platinum

Missouri City (recertified) | platinum

Pflugerville (recertified) | platinum

Magnolia (recertified) | recognized

Pilot Point (recertified) | recognized

Irving (recertified) | silver

Nassau Bay (recertified) | silver

The Scenic City application period for 2021 opens January 1, 2021.  Any interested Texas municipality may go online now to review the Program standards and application process at

The Texas Municipal League will present the awards at the 2021 TML Elected Official Conference in San Antonio on Wednesday, March 17. 


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment