Handing out the hardware: Sealy athletics celebrates 2017-2018 at awards banquet


In the first year of Sealy athletics under the helm of Athletic Director Shane Mobley, 16 of 17 Sealy varsity athletic teams made the playoffs, bonds were formed among teammates and while none of the seasons ended in a state title, they were far from disappointments.

Some of the greatest athletic accomplishments were recognized May 17 as athletes had dinner in the school cafeteria before heading into the auditorium with friends and family. Mobley opened the ceremony with a speech in which he acknowledged the contributions of those who work with him including the Sealy ISD activities secretary Karen Naida, assistant coaches and others.

Awards recognized players’ All-District honors both with athletics and academics. Each team also named their most valuable player of the season with softball and baseball also handing out golden glove awards as well.

There were several special awards given out with two standing out in particular. The first noticeable one was the T.J. Mills Award, which was presented for the first time this year. Mobley said the award was given to a female and male student who showed both personal and athletic growth. The award is named after the legendary former Sealy coach after getting approval from his family. The winners were Diari Dabney and Devin Aguado.

Cheryl Mellenthin, president of the Mark A. Chapman Foundation, was presented with the Ole Man Award for her various donations to the Sealy area.

The Jeff Barry Award was presented to Beau Welch and Aidan Roberts by Coach Ray Dabney. Both of the students lost a parent during the school year and Dabney said the award was well-earned by their handling of a seemingly impossible situation.

“I lost my dad when I was young as well and it still gets to me now but the way these guys carried themselves through something as hard as they had to go through. There were no more deserving winners than them,” Dabney said.

Both received a standing ovation when they accepted their awards.

The MVPs and special award winners were:

* “Ole Man” Award: Cheryl Mellenthin

* Student Trainer of the Year: Hunter Crosby

* Football MVP: Justin Eckhardt

* Lineman Award: Jose Rodriguez

* Boys’ Cross Country MVP: James Gassiott

* Boys’ Basketball MVP: A.J. McGee

* Boy’s Powerlifting MVP: Cody Burklund

* Boys’ Soccer MVP: Alejandro Avila

* Boys’ Tennis MVP: Brendon Beckendorff and Jonah Delozier

* Boys’ Golf MVP: Aidan Roberts

* Baseball MVP: Garret Zaskoda

* Baseball Golden Glove: Brennan Brandes

* Boys’ Track and Field MVP: Tyrek McNeese

* Girls’ Volleyball MVP: Madison Luther

* Girls’ Cross Country MVP: Trinity Hall

* Girls’ Basketball MVP: McKayla Black

* Girls’ Powerlifting MVP: Emma Juarez

* Girls’ Soccer MVP: Natalie Vital/Cheyenne Matthews

* Girls’ Tennis MVP: Danielle Thaxton

* Girls’ Golf MVP: Maddie Goad

* Girls’ Softball MVP: MaKaylah Scott

* Softball Golden Glove: Raygan Snyder

* Girls’ Track and Field MVP: Madison Klotz and Marleeza Williams

* Carl Weber Dedication Award: Ivan Bolden and Garret Zaskoda (offense) and Francisco Murillo (defense)

* Jeff Barry Award: Beau Welch and Aidan Roberts

* Tigerette Award: Rayann Rabius

* Lady Tiger Pride Award: Kendall Dornak

* Coaches’ Choice Award: Raegan Newsome and Zoee Jeffrey

* T.J. Mills Award: Diari Dabney and Devin Aguado

* Ricky Seals Tiger Award: Justin Eckhardt and Tyrek McNeese


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment