Dickerson named to College Football Hall of Fame


Sealy High School and Southern Methodist University alum Eric Dickerson was chosen as one of 19 members of the 2020 College Football Hall of Fame Class, it was announced Wednesday morning.

It's his second Hall-of-Fame honor in the last six months, earning the call to the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame back in October.

"The leader of SMU's famed 'Pony Express,' Dickerson set nearly every school rushing record while launching the Mustangs into national prominence," the release states. "The Sealy, Texas, native becomes the seventh SMU player to enter the College Football Hall of Fame."

After leading Sealy to its first state championship in 1978, Dickerson chose to take his talents to Dallas where he was twice named an All-American and earned Southwest Conference Player of the Year honors two years. The latter of which was a first-team bid his final year for the Mustangs where he finished third in the Heisman Trophy race for an 11-0-1 SMU team that finished No. 2 in the country.

He'll join the 16 other "All-American players and two coaches (who) will be inducted during the 63rd NFF Annual Awards Dinner Presented by ETT on Dec. 8 in New York City and will be immortalized at the Hall in Atlanta," the release continues.

The full 2020 College Football Hall of Fame Class


  • Lomas Brown - OT, Florida (1981-84)
  • Keith Byars - RB, Ohio State (1982-85)
  • Eric Crouch - QB, Nebraska (1998-2001)
  • Eric Dickerson - RB, Southern Methodist (1979-82)
  • Glenn Dorsey - DT, LSU (2004-07)
  • Jumbo Elliott - OT, Michigan (1984-87)
  • Jason Hanson - PK, Washington State (1988-91)
  • E.J. Henderson - LB, Maryland (1999-2002)
  • E.J. Junior - DE, Alabama (1977-80)
  • Steve McNair - QB, Alcorn State (1991-94)
  • Cade McNown - QB, UCLA (1995-98)
  • Leslie O'Neal - DT, Oklahoma State (1982-85)
  • Anthony Poindexter - DB, Virginia (1995-98)
  • David Pollack - DE, Georgia (2001-04)
  • Bob Stein - DE, Minnesota (1966-68)
  • Michael Westbrook - WR, Colorado (1991-94)
  • Elmo Wright - WR, Houston (1968-70)


  • Dick Sheridan - 121-52-5 (69.4%); Furman (1978-85), North Carolina State (1986-92)
  • Andy Talley - 258-155-2 (62.4%); St. Lawrence [NY] (1979-83), Villanova (1985-2016)

Class notes

  • unanimous First Team All-Americans (Byars, Dickerson, Dorsey, Hanson, Junior, O'Neal)
  • 10 conference players of the year (Byars, Crouch (2), Dickerson (2), Dorsey, Henderson (2), McNair (4), McNown, O'Neal, Poindexter, Pollack (2))
  • 13 members of conference championship teams (Byars, Crouch, Dickerson (2), Dorsey, Elliott, Henderson, Junior (3), McNair (2), McNown (2), Poindexter, Pollack, Stein, Westbrook)
  • 13 players who still hold school records (Byars, Crouch, Dickerson, Hanson, Henderson, Junior, McNair, McNown, O'Neal, Poindexter, Pollack, Westbrook, Wright)
  • 11 first-round NFL draft picks (Brown, Byars, Dickerson, Dorsey, Junior, McNair, McNown, O'Neal, Pollack, Westbrook, Wright)
  • 5 decades represented: 1960s (1) - Stein; 1970s (1)- Wright; 1980s (7) - Brown, Byars, Dickerson, Elliott, Hanson, Junior, O'Neal; 1990s (4) - McNair, McNown, Poindexter, Westbrook; 2000s (4) - Crouch, Dorsey, Henderson, Pollack

You can read the full release here and check next week's paper for more coverage.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment