Dickerson gets call to the hall

1978 state champion to be enshrined in High School Football Hall of Fame


Sealy High School running back and safety Eric Dickerson has been chosen to represent the 1970s decade in the 2020 installment of the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame next May in Waco.

This makes two years in a row a Tiger earned his call to the hall with head coach T.J. Mills being honored for a four-year title run from 1994 to 1997 during this year’s ceremony in the Ferrell Center at Baylor University.

Dickerson was part of the 1978 Sealy team that earned the town its first football state championship after its first undefeated regular season where the Tigers outscored district opponents, 375-110. In the first round of the playoffs, he suffered a sprained ankle and his production was dialed back a bit over the next couple of games before exploding in the state championship game for 292 yards and four touchdowns to lead Sealy over Wylie, 42-20.

It was the game that group of seniors had been preparing for their entire lives after finishing junior high undefeated and outscoring opponents “something like 400-6,” according to Herbert Kollatschny’s book “Austin County Sports Legends,” from 2008.

Dickerson ended the year with 2,342 yards rushing and 118 receiving yards while accounting for 31 touchdowns, making him one of the most sought-after college prospects as a high school All-American. He landed at Southern Methodist where, even after sharing carries with Craig James, broke Earl Campbell’s all-time Southwest Conference rushing record although he finished third in the Heisman Trophy race.

Still, the Los Angeles Rams made him the second athlete taken in the 1983 draft and the rest is history.

He retired as the third-leading rusher in NFL history with 13,259 on 2,996 carries after six Pro Bowl nominations, five All-Pro teams and leading the league in rushing four times over, earning a spot in the Pro Football Hall of Fame on his first year of eligibility.

Now, he adds a Texas High School Football Hall of Fame induction onto his resume along with eight other athletes: Grand Prairie Dalworth’s Charley Taylor (1959 and before), Chuck Dicus (’60s) of Garland, Midland Lee’s Tyrone Thurman (’80s), David Warren (’90s) of Tyler, The Woodlands’ Danny Amendola (’00s) as well as coaches Chad Morris (Bay City, Lake Travis) and Dan R. Hooks (West Orange-Stark) and the Dave Campbell’s Contributor to the Game, Joe Martin of the Texas High School Coaches Association.

Tickets will go on sale for the May 2, 2020, ceremony in January and Tiffany Wilkins will be the person to contact to purchase tickets before April 26 at txhs.footballhof@gmail.com or 210-290-8570.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment