Delta Kappa Gamma Society International has February meeting


The Gamma Omega Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma Society International met in the Fellowship Hall of St. Paul Lutheran Church in Phillipsburg, Texas on Feb. 2, with 48 members and six guests present. Jessie Kokemor read the Mission Statement and led the pledges. The Collect was recited by Yvonne Wait. Meditation was given by Grace Holtkamp, and the prayer was said by Heather Smith.

Sealy members hosted the meeting and presented “Gold Star Mothers’ Program.” Holtkamp captivated the members’ attention in the moving, awe-inspiring and historical information behind this Program. Janet Allphin provided the music authentic to the WWI and WWII time period.

President Lou Pruett presided over the business meeting. Minutes from the December meeting were approved as presented by Melanie Ueckert, Recording Secretary. Trudy Holland’s Treasurer’s report was approved.

The program committee report was given by First Vice President Jeanell Dallmeyer. She announced that DKG Scholarships will be presented by the Burton members at the March meeting. Pruett gave the legislative report encouraging members to pay attention to the local races.

Sue Wieprecht presented DKG scholarships to the following 2018-2019 recipients: The Maggie B. Selman scholarship was presented to Hayley Coronado of Somerville; and the Dorothy Louise Lehrmann scholarships were presented to Ivonne De Jesus and Brittany Paget, both of Bellville. The Operation Lend-a-Hand was awarded to the Lexington members. Membership chairman Anna Breddin stated that membership applications are due March 2, 2019, and that our Initiation will be held in April this year.

Mary Keienburg, Bylaws and Rules committee chairman, announced that February is ASTEF donation month. Keienburg encouraged members to donate online; donations are tax deductible. Keienburg also distributed draft copies of the Chapter Rules of The Gamma Omega Chapter of Texas State Organization of the Delta Kappa Gamma Society International for members’ review.

The next chapter meeting will be March 2 at 9:30 a.m. at St. Paul Lutheran Church,

Phillipsburg, Texas. Door prizes were donated by Kathy Noska and won by Sharon Spiess and

Mary Keienburg. The Focus prize, donated by Lou Pruett, was won by Linda Pipes. The

meeting was adjourned, followed by members singing the Delta Kappa Gamma song.

For more information about Delta Kappa Gamma Society International, please visit

Members attending from Sealy were Janet Allphin, Grace Holtkamp, Jessie Kokemor, Kathy

Noska, Laurie Pawlak, Heather Smith, and Yvonne Wait.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment