Delta Kappa Gamma Society International discusses scholarships


The Gamma Omega Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma Society International met in the Fellowship Hall of St. Paul Lutheran Church in Phillipsburg, Texas. Anna Breddin read the Mission Statement. Shelley Nies led the Pledges. The Collect was recited by Carobeth Bockhorn. Meditation was given by Lizzie Jurica, and the prayer was said by Cheryl DeBera.

Burton members hosted the meeting and presented DKG scholarships. Mary Keienburg, state committee chairman, opened the program with inviting discussion from members about their knowledge and memories of Maggie B. Selman and Dorothy Louise Lehrman, the women of whom the scholarships are named. Many members shared fond memories about the stellar attributes these women possessed. Adjectives befitting for these two DKG members are loyalty, dedication, and commitment. Keienburg bridged our attention to the TSO Scholarships along with the benefits as well as the "how" and "when" to apply for the nine different scholarships available, including the, DKG International Scholarships.

President Lou Pruett presided over the business meeting. Minutes from the February meeting were approved as presented by Melanie Ueckert, Recording secretary. Trudy Holland's Treasurer's Report was approved.

The Program Committee report was given by first vice president Jeanell Dallmeyer. She announced that that the program, "Happy Birthday to Us," will be presented by the Bellville members at the April meeting. Pruett encouraged members to keep reading Tim Lee's “The Voice.” Pruett stated that there is a lot of information coming out of the Texas Legislature regarding Teacher Retirement and public school funding.

Membership Chairman, Anna Breddin presented the names of new member applicants, Liz Lattimer and Kim Applewhite. The new applicants were unanimously accepted.

Achievement Chairman, Jessie Kokemor, requested members to submit a written nomination of a fellow member to be the recipient of the annual, "Chapter Achievement Award.” Results will be disclosed at the April meeting.

Schools for Africa collections were taken from members as member, Carolyn Golan expressed, "Our children are so blessed, but not so for the children in Africa." Member Joy Kroeger stated that "If the children did not have a uniform, they could not attend school."

The next Chapter meeting will be April 13, 2019, at St. Paul Lutheran Church, Phillipsburg, Texas at, 9:30 a.m. Door prizes were donated by Bertha Upshaw and won by Eunice Sitton and Peggy Ueckert, and the Focus prize, donated by Pruett, was won by Melanie Ueckert. Anna Breddin moved to adjourn the meeting; it was seconded by Joyce Whitehead. Members joined in singing the Delta Kappa Gamma song.

For more information about Delta Kappa Gamma Society International, please visit


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment