Delta Kappa Gamma holds April meeting


The Gamma Omega Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma Society International met April 14 in the Fellowship Hall of St. Paul Lutheran Church in Phillipsburg, TX with 40 members present and one guest.

Gladys Avis read the mission statement and the collect. Lee Brodhead gave the meditation and Mary Louise Wilhelm said a prayer.

President Lou Pruett presided over the business meeting. Minutes from the March 2018 regular meeting were approved as printed by Kathy Noska, Recording Secretary. Treasurer Linda Pinkerton’s report was approved as printed and will be filed for audit.

Several thank-you cards and notes of correspondence were read to the members.

Lou Pruett gave the legislative report, encouraging members to read, stay informed and to be active in the many issues concerning active and retired teachers.

First Vice-President Jeanell Dallmeyer gave members welcome cards to sign and they will be taken to the International Conference in July. She also shared the Annie power point presentation for the chapter. Next, members from each town/county drew for the month they will host a meeting and present a program for next year.

Achievement Committee Chair Melanie Crowhurst presented the Chapter Achievement Award to Linda Pinkerton. Perfect Attendance Awards were presented to Gladys Avis, Anna Breddin, Jessie Kokemor, Linda Pinkerton, Lynda York, Lou Pruett, Heather Smith, Kathy Noska, Peggy Ueckert, Mary Louise Wilhelm, Evelyn Turlington, Janyce Beyer and Janet Allphin. Melanie also announced past president honorees, Grace Holtkamp, Carol Ann Wiesner, Linda York, Joy Moeller, Linda Pinkerton, Carole Fry, Peggy Ueckert, Heather Smith, Mary Keienburg, Trudy Holland and Lou Pruett.

Membership Committee Chair Lynda York presented and initiated a new member, Susan Campbell of Tomball. Next, Lynda York and Linda Pinkerton presented a special memorial service in honor of Sally Rost.

Today’s program, “Our Founders, Their Gift that Keeps on Giving,” was presented by Linda Pipes and Treva Bullard. Lynda York conducted the Birthday Program with cupcakes and we all sang the Birthday songs. Members celebrated the birthdays of Delta Kappa Gamma and Gamma Omega.

Lou announced that the State Convention will be held in Waco, June 14-16, 2018. She reminded members to sign up for the STAR retreat and the International Convention in Austin in July if they plan to attend.

Shelly Nies spotlighted Gladys Avis, Bertha Upshaw and Lou Pruett as our members to get to know. Evelyn Turlington won the door prize donated by Treva Bullard, and Linda Pinkerton won the Perfect Attendance prize. The Washington County members were thanked for serving as hostesses. The next meeting will be June 20, 2018 at 11:00 a.m. at St. Paul Lutheran Church in Phillipsburg with the Hempstead and Caldwell members serving as hostesses. Following adjournment, the members sang the Delta Kappa Gamma song.

Attending from Bellville were Myra Demel, Carole Fry, Carolyn Golan, Joy Mueller, Earnestine Seals, and Peggy Ueckert.

Attending from Sealy were Grace Holtkamp, Jessie Kokemor, Kathy Noska, and Heather Smith.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment