Ballot set for San Felipe election


Six candidates are vying for three seats on the San Felipe Town Council.

Mayor Pro Tempore Alfred Hall, Alderman Louis T. Bonner Jr. and Alderman Brenda Newsome are being challenged by Cynthia “Dusty” Kelly, Toni Franklin and Kent McAllister. The election is set for May 5, with early voting to begin April 23.

San Felipe elected officials serve two-year terms, and all seats are at-large, meaning the top three-vote getters are automatically elected, said City Secretary Sue Foley. Candidates do not declare a political party nor do they represent a particular region or district of the town. Terms are staggered, so Mayor Bobby Byars, Alderman Derrick Dabney and Alderman Jeff Zeigler will be up for re-election next year.

According to its website, San Felipe’s population was 868 as of the 2000 U.S. Census.

An election also is planned May 5 in Sealy.

Sealy ISD board members Creed Roberts and Joe Mike Young will return to their seats with no competition, as will Sealy City Councilman Chris Noack, who took office in September to fill the unexpired term of Janice Whitehead who resigned her council seat to make a successful bid for mayor.

Sealy City Council Place 4 incumbent Jennifer Sullivan is facing Diane Wuthrich. Place 5 Councilman Larry Koy is being challenged by Mischelle McCarthy.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment