2019 Austin County election results

Gloster votes for incorporation


As the dust settled on Saturday’s municipal and school board elections, the sun arose Sunday morning on a new city in Austin County.

The residents of Gloster, located east of Sealy and south of Brazos Country voted to incorporate as a city and elected a mayor and two city commissioners.

“I’m especially proud of our voter turnout, we had over 100 voters,” said Mayor-elect Laura Meyer. “It shows the passion of our community to maintain our rural way of life.”

The vote to create the City of Gloster as a general law Class C municipality was 65 votes for to 11 against. Meyer becomes the city’s first mayor by defeating Brandon Hawbaker 57-16. The city’s first commissioners will be Henry Mlcak (58 votes) and John Couch (48 votes). They defeated Michael Blommer (20 votes) and John Mathews (21 votes).

In the races for Sealy City Council, Sandra Vrablec won re-election to the Place 3 seat with 301 votes to Dorothy Tarver’s 181, and Adam Burttschell unseated incumbent John Hinze for the Place 6 seat, 318-185.

“I’m thankful for all the support that was shown to me in the last three or four months,” Burttschell said. “I’m appreciative of my opponent, too. He served the community well. It was a clean campaign with no ill-will toward anyone.”

Burttschell and Vrablec will be sworn in once the votes are canvased at the May 14 city council meeting.

“I’m going in with a clear mind to help out the city any way I can,” Burttschell said.

In San Felipe, Mayor Bobby Byars held off a challenge by Cynthia L. Kelly, 150-120. In the race for alderman, Derrick Dabney won re-election with 157 votes, and challenger Larry Gentry unseated Jeffrey Zeigler 124 votes to 106. Other contenders included Michael Skrivanek with 48 votes and Malcom Upfield with 44.

In the races for the Sealy ISD Board of Trustees, Kristen Novicke beat Bradley Miller for the vacant seat in Place 1 with 715 votes to 353. Incumbent Brian Owen won re-election to Place 2 with 551 votes, followed by Ralph Bond with 388 and Lakisha Murray with 134. Place 3 Trustee Ryan Reichardt was unopposed with 856 votes.

“I am thrilled to have the opportunity to serve the district and community in this way,” Novicke said. “I valued my experiences in SISD as a student, teacher, and parent and I am excited to learn more from the perspective that I’ll have as a board member. Each candidate that participated in the election had valuable knowledge and skills to offer. I feel honored to have been elected to serve and am humbled by the tremendous support I have felt from family, friends, and the community. I look forward to joining the team of board members in leading the district. Thank you!”

May 4 election results

Sealy ISD

Place 1

Kristen Nelson Novicke, 715

Bradley A. Miller, 353

Place 2

Brian Owen, 551

Ralph Bond, 388

Lakisha Murray, 134

Place 3

Ryan Reichardt, 856

City of Sealy

Place 3

Sandra Vrablec, 301

Dorothy Tarver, 181

Place 6

Adam Burttschell, 318

John Hinze, 185

San Felipe


Bobby Owen Byars, 150

Cynthia L. Kelly, 120

Alderman (top two vote-getters win)

Derrick Dwain Dabney, 157

Larry Gentry, 124

John Jeffrey Zeigler, 106

Michael Joe Skrivanek, 48

Malcom John Upfield, 44

Brazos Country


Albert Sykes, 152

Bob Ray, 36


Sharon Smith, 165


Incorporation as a city

For: 65

Against: 11


Laura Meyer, 57

Brandon Hawbaker, 16

Commissioners (top two vote-getters win)

Henry A. Mlcak, 58

John A. Couch, 48

John Mathews, 21

Michael Blommer, 20


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment